Assault is considered a violent crime. It covers many related offenses and is a serious criminal matter which will remain on your record for years. Assault, or “Simple Assault”, is considered the attempt to commit battery, or the intent to place someone else in a situation where they will receive battery.Charged with a crime in Louisiana? Please call (888) 632-5650.
Louisiana Assault Laws & Penalties
Under Louisiana assault laws, general assault is considered “simple assault”. Penalties for simple assault are up to two hundred dollars in fines and up to ninety days in jail.
Aggravated Assault / Assault with a Dangerous Weapon
In the state of Louisiana, Aggravated Assault is considered Assault with a Dangerous Weapon. If you commit Aggravated Assault, then you can be fined up to $2,000 and put in jail for up to 6 months, or more. If you commit Aggravated Assault on a store employee while you are trying to steal, you can face a sentence between 120 days, without the benefit of a suspension of your sentence, and 6 months behind bars and be fined up to $1,000.
Assault with a Firearm
If you are charged with Aggravated Assault with a Firearm that means that the firearm was actually discharged. Should you be convicted of Aggravated Assault with a Firearm, the charges could be considered a felony which can result in up to 5 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $5,000.
Louisiana Battery Laws & Penalties
Battery is another crime associated with assault laws and actually involves force or contact. “Simple Battery” is considered a misdemeanor and can result in a sentence of up to 6 months in jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000.
Aggravated Battery means that a dangerous weapon was actually used. This is considered a felony and can result in up to 10 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $5,000.
Second Degree Battery
Second Degree Battery means that you committed battery and purposefully caused serious bodily injury such as unconsciousness, disfigurement, extreme pain, loss, impairment, or substantial risk of death. This is a felony and can result in a sentence of up to 5 years in prison and/or fines of up to$2,000.
Second Degree Aggravated Battery
Second Degree Aggravated Battery means that you intentionally inflected serious injuries described above in Second Degree Battery, and you used a dangerous weapon. This is one of the most serious violent crimes in the state of Louisiana and can result in a sentence of up to 15 years in prison and/or a fine of up t0 $10,000.
Get Help with a Louisiana Assault Charge
In the state of Louisiana, Assault charges can result from domestic disputes or bar fights, but in any case are taken very seriously.
A possible defense strategy for the charges of Assault, depending on the specifics of your case, is self-defense. Self-defense is only possible if you or another person were provoked and you had to defend yourself or another person. If the complainant had threatened another person and you were rescuing them, then self-defense is a possible strategy.
You can also claim that the Assault charge was an accident if you thought there was a threat of bodily harm.
An Assault case requires proof of intent. Should you show that you never meant to harm the victim and that there was a misunderstanding, then you can possibly receive a dismissal of your Assault case or win a trial.
With the help of a defense attorney you can receive a less severe sentence and work to possibly have the charges against you dropped.