Criminal Damage to Property
Louisiana state law defines the crime of criminal damage to property as intentionally damaging property which belongs to someone else without their permission. The charges are dependent upon the value of the damage which was caused.Charged with a crime in Louisiana? Please call (888) 632-5650.
Louisiana Criminal Property Damage Laws & Penalties
For criminal property damage, should the value of the damage amount to less than $500 then the sentence can include up to 6 months in jail and a fine of $1,000.
If the value of the damage caused is between $500 and $50,000, the sentence can include up to 2 years in prison with a fine of $1,000.
Should the value of the damage exceed $50,000, the sentence can be between 1 and 10 years in prison and a fine up to $10,000.
Aggravated Criminal Property Damage Laws & Penalties
Aggravated criminal property damage is when you intentionally damaged a structure, vehicle, or watercraft knowing that someone else’s life would be put in danger.
If you are convicted of aggravated criminal property damage the sentence can result in 1 to 15 years in prison as well as a $10,000.
Property Damage with Intent to Defraud Laws
Property damage with the intent to defraud is when you damaged property of your own or of someone else with the intent to defraud. This can include damaging your own property and trying to fraudulently collect money from insurance.
The sentence under Louisiana law for property damage with intent to defraud includes up to 4 years in prison with a fine up to $10,000.
Criminal Mischief Laws
If you are charged with criminal mischief this means there is probable cause that you tampered with someone else’s property without their permission with the intention of interfering with their right to enjoy it, or with the intention of depriving them of the full use of their property. Criminal mischief charges also include giving false fire alarms or other emergency alarms.
A charge of criminal mischief can include driving a tack, a nail, or a spike into a tree located on another person’s property. If you prune or top trees or shrubs which are located in the right-of-way of a state highway and do not have permission, you can also be charged with criminal mischief.
If you give a law enforcement officer a false report about an attempt to commit a crime or a crime, it is considered criminal mischief. Throwing stones or missiles into a public square, enclosure, street, or roadway is considered criminal mischief. In the state of Louisiana, if you take temporary possession of any part of a place of business or you stay at a business location after you have been asked to leave, you can be charged with criminal mischief. Criminal mischief in the state of Louisiana includes committing communication to someone in order to disrupt public utility water services, discharging a firearm at a train, or putting graffiti on private or public property without permission.
If you are convicted of criminal mischief you can face up to 6 months in jail and a fine of up to $500.
Charges of arson in the state of Louisiana include intentionally damaging something using explosive substances, or setting fire to someone else’s property without their consent.
If you are convicted of arson you can face prison between 2 and 15 years and a fine up to $15,000, if the damage amounted to at least $500.
If the value of the damage is less then $500, then you can face a fine of $2,500 and prison for up to 5 years.
Get Legal Help with a Louisiana Criminal Property Damage, Mischief, Malicious Damage, or Arson Charge
If you get immediate legal defense you can work with the prosecution to try to negotiate a lesser charge and a minimum fine.
Defense attorneys can work to verify that you were given express permission to destroy property from the property owner, or that you were under the assumption that the property had been given to you.
And of course, if you are accused of a crime that you did not commit, you need to assume an aggressive defense to protect your freedom and your future.
Contact us for a legal case evaluation on any criminal offense in Louisiana.