Louisiana Criminal Defense Lawyer

Drug Possession


Drug possession in the state of Louisiana, for something other than marijuana, can result in jail time, hard labor, as well as fines – all of which are dependent upon the drugs involved, the amount of drugs, and any previous criminal record. They are serious crimes and are considered misdemeanors and felonies depending on the same aforementioned circumstances pertaining to your case.

Charged with a crime in Louisiana? Please call (800) 950-2217.
call_now

Louisiana Drug Possession Laws & Penalties

In the state of Louisiana, controlled substances are classified as schedules based upon the potential for abuse of each item. This means that those drugs with the highest potential for being abused, and which are not used for medical purposes, are considered Schedule I. Unlike Schedule III drugs, which can be used medically and are less likely to be abused by users. The penalties associated with conviction of drug possession charges are based upon this schedule.

  • Schedule I includes marijuana, heroin, MDMA, and LSD.
  • Schedule II includes raw opium and cocaine.
  • Schedule III includes substances for building muscle and anabolic steroids.

Schedule I Penalties

For unauthorized possession of any of the substances which are part of Schedule I, the penalties can include up to 10 years in jail and/or a fine of up to $5,000.

Schedule II Penalties

If you are convicted of possession of any of the substances which are part of Schedule II, then you can face a sentence of up to 5 years in jail and/or a fine of up to $5,000.

Schedule III Penalties

Should you be convicted of the unauthorized possession of any of the substances which are a part of Schedule III, then you can face up to 5 years in jail, with or without hard labor, and/or a fine of up to $5,000.

Possession of Hallucinogenics Penalties

Should you be convicted of possessing a material, a compound, or a mixture which contains a hallucinogenic plant then you can face up to 5 years in jail, with hard labor or without, and/or a fine of up to $5,000.

Criminal Defense Strategies for Drug Possession Charges in Louisiana

There are a few major pleas you can make should you face a drug possession charge prior to going before a judge:

Not guilty. Should you plead not guilty to a drug possession charge in Louisiana, a trial date will be set wherein you will go before a jury to determine whether or not you are guilty.

Guilty. If you plead guilty to a drug possession charge in Louisiana, this generally means that the prosecution has offered a plea bargain, which lets you plead guilty to a lower infraction and receive a lesser sentence.

No contest to a drug possession charge in Louisiana. This is much like pleading not guilty, but it provides protection in any potential civil trials, as pleading no contest cannot be used against you.

Get Help with a Louisiana Drug Possession Charge

If you are charged with drug possession in the state of Louisiana, seeking proper defense attorneys can help you determine which defense strategy is best suited for your case. Defense attorneys can work with the prosecution to reduce your penalty, using their skills and experience.