Louisiana Criminal Defense Lawyer

Weapons Offenses


In the state of Louisiana, there are very light firearm regulation laws.

Charged with a crime in Louisiana? Please call (800) 950-2217.
call_now

The laws state that you must be eighteen years of age to own a handgun and twenty one years of age to quality for a permit to carry a concealed weapon.

The state of Louisiana allows each citizen the right to keep and bear arms. There is no specified age requirement, registration, license, or permit requirement for rifles and shotguns. However, to own a handgun you must be eighteen years of age and must have a permit to carry it.

Louisiana Weapons Offenses Laws and Penalties

Permit Qualifications

The permit qualifications in the state of Louisiana are not applicable to people who have been convicted of a felony, who are fugitives, or who have been convicted of a misdemeanor related to controlled substances within the last five years. Those who have been convicted of a violent crime within the last five years are also not legally allowed to have a permit to carry.

If you have a history of violent behavior, if you have committed a controlled substance abuse, if you are unlawfully using or addicted to depressants, narcotics, marijuana, or stimulants, then you are not legally allowed a permit to carry.

You are also not allowed a permit to carry a gun if you habitually consume alcohol, or suffer from any physical or mental infirmity which would prevent you from safely handling a gun.

Also, if you have been committed to a mental institution or you have been denied a permit within the past year, have had permits revoked within the past four years, or were dishonorably discharged from the military, then you are not qualified for a permit to carry a gun.

When a Weapons Offense charge applies

You can be charged with a weapons offense if you are carrying a concealed weapon while under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

You can also be charged with a weapons offense if a police officer approaches you, and you fail to inform the officer that you are carrying a concealed weapon prior to a pat down.

You can also face a weapons offense if you carry your concealed weapon into:

  • a law enforcement building, station, or office
  • polling place, state capitol building
  • prison, jail, or detention facility
  • courthouse or courtroom
  • airport
  • place of worship
  • licensed parades
  • bars or restaurants which are selling alcohol
  • schools, school campuses, or school buses

If you possess, buy, sell, or transport a firearm whose serial number has been removed (with the exception of relics and antiques) then you can face a penalty of up to 6 months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.

If you are convicted of a felony and you illegally possess a weapon, then you can face between 10 and 20 years in prison with a fine between $1,000 and $5,000.

If you are convicted of giving, delivering, selling, lending, providing, donating, or transferring a firearm to a convicted felon you can face between 1 and 5 years in prison and a fine between $1,000 and $5,000.

If a minor is in possession of a handgun they can be charged with a fine of $100 and imprisonment for between 90 days and 6 months. If you are at a shooting range, have written permission from a legal guardian, have permission from the property owner, or at part of a safety course, this law does not apply.

If you are convicted of possessing, concealing, or receiving stolen firearms you can face between 1 and 5 years in prison.

Self-defense as a Weapons Offense Charge Strategy

While you can use deadly force in self-defense, it is not legal when deadly force was not first used against you, outside of your place of business, car or home, or in the direction of a roadway or railroad.

Get Help with a Weapons Offense Charge

With the help of an experienced defense attorney, charges for a weapons offense can be dropped against you for self-defense, or other charges can be reduced to their minimum sentence depending on the surrounding circumstances.